And so it begins…

On August 15, 2016, I welcomed  60+ educators back from summer break to begin a new school year.  This time, my role was not at the district level, but as the building principal of a high school.  This is my second time to be a head principal but first time to be at the high school level.  After completing my first semester at Andover High School, I am implementing all of the lessons I have learned so far in education.  I have been to countless trainings about leadership and really want to be the best leader I can for the staff at Andover High School.  I am always the first to admit that I am far from perfect and I make plenty of mistakes, but I have always learned from those mistakes.  I prefer to say that I will find a way to “fail forward”.  I have made a commitment to myself that if I know better, then I need to do better.  Therefore, any lesson, good or bad, is tucked away for me to draw upon as I lead.

I have always been interested in blogging, but never really had the confidence to do so.  I know that I will be expecting teachers to step outside their comfort zones and try new things, so I also need to expect that from myself.  Blogging is completely outside my comfort zone, but I believe blogging can  be very powerful both from a self reflective and communication standpoint.

I am a huge supporter of twitter and all that it has to offer for my professional learning.  I was thrilled to come across this information.  http://theedublogger.edublogs.org/2016/11/30/join-the-edublogs-blogging-club-weekly-prompts-delivered-to-your-email/

By joining this club, I will actually receive weekly prompts every week about topics in education.  I was always so worried about trying to blog because I wasn’t actually sure what to write.  I’m so excited someone had the idea to send writing prompts to begin 2017!  I have no more excuses not to blog any longer.  I keep trying to think of questions to ask right now, but I don’t know what I don’t know.  I am nervous but excited because I always know that my largest learning growth happens when I take myself out of my comfort zone.

I do not follow a lot of blogs, but hope to read and learn about more of them as I create my own.  These are the current blogs I follow and am excited to add to this list.  I finally figured out how to subscribe to them so I get them sent directly to my email. (remember, I’m a very inexperienced blogger)

My goal is to blog once a month, possibly more and to stay relevant and current about what I am doing as a leader and what might be of interest to our staff, students and stakeholders.

I chose #oneword for my new year instead of a resolution.  My word is #commitment.  There are many things I want to stay committed to and this blog is one of them.  The blog prompts help keep me accountable and intentional.  It’s exciting now, but being intentional will come after a few weeks!

Here’s to my 2017 blogging adventure.

Dr. K

6 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Excited for you and your blog! You’re doing an outstanding job and we are so glad to have you in Andover. Keep it up!

  2. I admire your leadership vision–taking risks when you want others to do the same. I aim to be a principal one day and look forward to following you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *