My One Word…

Years ago I was sitting in a workshop, and the presenter asked this question, “It’s common sense, but is it common practice?”  I remember thinking what a simple question yet it really had an impact on me!  How many things in our personal and professional life are common sense but aren’t necessarily common practice?

Every year in my professional learning network, there is a movement to select one word that will guide and impact you for the new year.  I love the idea of one word much more than creating a resolution that I know I’ll break after 24 hours.  I’m always inspired by the one word others choose, as they all give me pause to think about how that word resonates with me.

Keeping in line with the common practice question, my word came easy this year. 

INTENTIONAL

After reflecting on this word and how I want it to impact my year, I decided to start with changing the title of my blog as well as the look and feel of it.  After seeing so many other quality bloggers that inspire me as a leader in education, I decided that a new title should reflect my one word.   My “intention” for this blog is to reflect my passion for teaching, learning, students, and teachers.  And so,  “The Intentional Principal” is now the name of my blog.

I also love inspirational and motivating quotes, so it seemed fitting to add a quote from one of my favorite role models in leadership, John Maxwell.   It states, “The more intentional you are about your leadership growth, the greater your potential for becoming the leader you’re capable of being. Never stop learning.”  This quote epitomizes who I strive to be in leadership.  

Being intentional is about being deliberate and purposeful.  I actually have a list of commitments that I keep near me at all times to help keep me accountable.  Each week I review this list to see how I am doing.  I am certainly not perfect, no one is, but it’s essential for me to try to be better each day.  When I reflect on my commitments, I always see areas I need to work on for the next day or week.  It’s been valuable for me to have them written down as it truly helps me be more intentional.  

  • I will maintain a POSITIVE ATTITUDE throughout the day and in all situations.
  • I will ENGAGE with 3-5 students, staff, and parents every week in meaningful dialogue.
  • I will be PRESENT every day by being mobile, visible, accessible and visiting classrooms.
  • I will GREET students & staff with a smile and a handshake.
  • I will continue to GROW my Professional Learning Network
  • I will BRAG about all the fantastic things happening at AHS through the use of Twitter, Facebook and other forms of communication.
  • I will CELEBRATE our staff at every staff meeting and as much as I can in between
  • I will MODEL what & how I learn from my own PLN on Twitter and Voxer
  • I will REFLECT & LEARN by sharing on a weekly blog
  • I will INVOLVE staff to both lead and participate in meetings
  • I will COLLABORATE with teachers in various settings & committees
  • I will FOSTER collaboration among teachers by:
    • Pineapple Chart/Magnets, providing the time when needed, professional learning time, asking for feedback, walkthroughs with teachers, book studies, etc.

I believe when we are intentional, the most significant impacts are made.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *