The Climate Survey….

Being a principal is both rewarding and stressful.  There are parts of the job that I love and others that just have to be done.  Some days I go home exhilarated and some days I go home exhausted.  There are highs & lows, positives, and negatives but ultimately I can’t imagine doing anything else.  The duality I experience moment to moment in my day is what reminds me that the feelings I have are never permanent and those tough experiences allow me to appreciate the positives so much more.

I am about to embark on yet another time frame of dichotomous emotion.   Our district is rolling out the yearly culture survey.  This survey is given to parents, students, and staff and we use the data from the survey to see how we are doing in several areas.  

Here is where I have to be honest.  It is one of the most challenging things I’ve had to go through as a head principal.  Why?  Because I take my position very seriously. Because I want to do the best job I possibly can. Because school culture is vital to me.  

When I reviewed the survey last year, I went through the gamut of emotions.  At times I felt joy, pride, excitement, delight, and peace.  At other times I felt sadness, anger, discouragement, frustration, and worry.   The culture survey is much like the Chinese philosophy of Yin and Yang in which these feelings are so interconnected they give rise to one another.

Because the yearly climate survey is anonymous, it is often an avenue for those who are upset to only make statements that aren’t constructive but are mean-spirited.  I was told last year that I wasn’t “wanted at all as a principal.” That I was “nothing more than a tweeting bird.” That parents were angry “my kids didn’t go to the school” and several more things I just choose to not think about.  I’m not only a principal, but I’m also human, and those statements hurt a lot.  

After my grieving period, I knew that I also needed to look at the feedback that was constructive and address it.  I truly value feedback.  I would prefer feedback to be face-to-face and constructive as I have been in many coaching sessions with professionals that have given me honest feedback.  It isn’t always easy to hear but I listen and strive to do better if I know better.  

Perceptions on the survey comments included that I was “late all the time” and “on my phone all the time.”  These were more constructive for me to address and I did so.  Did I believe I did either of these things?  No. But if the perception was out there, what could I do to help correct those things?  

I started to arrive earlier each morning and I bought a smartwatch so I could have my phone near me but not be looking at it all the time. I also shared the survey and all the comments with the staff.  Yes! ALL the comments. It was tough but it was the best thing I ever did.  I know that if I don’t model how to appropriately listen to feedback, then how can I expect the teachers too?  

So here we are again. Another year later and the survey is being launched.  I will admit my stomach is in knots and I’m nervous.  It’s hard not to be based on last years’ experience!  I also know that research tells us when we have a good experience anywhere, we tell 3 people.  If we have a terrible experience, we tell 12.  I wish we lived in a world where the opposite was true.  

Here is what I hope will happen with this year’s culture survey.  I hope those with a good experience will share their thoughts.  I hope those with a negative experience will be constructive in their views.  I can assure you that all of the input is appreciated and taken to heart.

As the building leader, I only have positive intentions each and every day.  It is my continued commitment to our school that drives me to help our school be the best every single day.  I’m ready for the range of emotions and welcome the feedback.  I hope you’ll take the time to complete the culture survey whether it be in Andover schools or your own school district.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *