A Plan for Self Care..

Recently I had a coaching conversation that really resonated with me.  

The coach asked me how I was taking care of myself so I could lead a high school.  I honestly had no answer.  

People find it hard to believe that I am actually an introvert.  This doesn’t mean I am shy, it means people take my energy.  For extroverts, they get their energy from people.  I’m in a career where my energy is zapped nearly 24/7.  I am never not the principal and this job is all about people.  I love what I do and the best part of the job is the relationships I build with students, staff, teachers, parents and the community.  I honestly couldn’t think of any other career I would feel this passionately about.  But back to my dilemma of not being able to answer the coaches question.  Admittedly, I have been in a bit of a “funk” to begin this school year and I could not understand why.  The year has started off great, the teachers have given some pretty awesome feedback, the students and parents seem happy, so why did I feel this way?  

Then the epiphany hit.  

I needed to find a way to take care of myself during the school day when I felt that dip in my energy/funk.  Even teachers get a plan time and a lunch time.  I wasn’t giving myself even time to stop and eat lunch as I usually scarf something down on the run.  

After some further conversation with my counselor, we came up with some ideas to help me take care of myself intrinsically so I could be my best self for the staff and students at AHS.  This could be something as simple as closing my door for 15 minutes, meditating,  taking a walk in our outside of the building or even grabbing a quick soda.  I haven’t done any of these things and even though they are out of my comfort zone, I know that I need to do them to take care of myself.  This job isn’t easy and it’s often a lonely one, but knowing I have these options now actually does take some weight off my shoulders.  I may never need them, but I have a plan when I feel that dip/funk?

Now I’m curious…..do you have a plan?  How do you take care of you during your work day?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *